The Bridge of Sighs is a bridge in Cambridge, England. The bridge is situated at the University of Cambridge. It was built in 1831 and links two university campuses over the River Cam. The architect of the bridge was Henry Hutchinson. It was thought that the bridge got its name as sighing students would use the bridge before their exams, that was incorrect as the bridge was actually named after the Bridge of Sighs in Venice. Like the bridge in Venice, it is a covered bridge. The bridge is a picturesque spot in the city.
The bridge is situated at the University of Cambridge. It is around a 30-minute walk away from ‘Cambridge’ train station. The 8 and X3 buses stop a short walk away.
Opening Times and Admission
The bridge is a public bridge, it is free to use.